Church Structure


Lampstand Church is governed by elders elected by the congregation. The pastor along with these ruling elders make up the governing body of the church, called the Session. The Session is chaired by the pastor and each elder is appointed to a committee. (Session committees are Building and Grounds, Christian Education, Finance and Stewardship, Great Banquet, Mission and Evangelism, Nominating, Pastoral Relations, Personnel, and Spiritual Life and Worship)

Elders are elected for a three year term and serve on a rotating basis with four new members elected each year.


The office of deacon is set forth in Scripture and is one of sympathy, witness, and service after the example of Jesus Christ. The Board of Deacons selects its moderator, secretary, and treasurer from its own members and fulfills functions as assigned by the Book of Order as well as undertaking tasks delegated by the Session.

In addition to serving on church committees with the elders, deacons are responsible for the Fellowship Outreach and Congregational Care committees.

Deacons are elected by the congregation and serve rotating three year terms. Lampstand Church has twelve deacons.

Comments are closed.